Valentine’s Day When You’re Far, Far Away

13 Feb
547940_10150943330646406_177008596_n

He’s okay, I guess.

Last year, I boarded as many airplanes as I was old: twenty. And yet I only visited three provinces. I’m not an important executive, flying across the country to convene with marketing gurus or to schmooze with potential clients. Nope, I’m just a third-year arts student who lives far away from her main squeeze. But it’s not too bad. Porter Airlines often has 50% off sales, so a Montreal-Toronto flight is only $50 each way (alas, before tax), and they offer free (alcoholic) drinks and the amazing Terra Chips on board. Plus, my parents live in Toronto so I can stop by the house, have a mom-cooked dinner and poke my cat’s stomach before getting driven to the Boy’s in Hamilton. So really, I have nothing to complain about.

photo

Favourite feline ever.

But what does one do for Valentine’s Day when one’s paramour lives hundreds of miles away? Let’s go through our options, shall we?

1. Ignore everything. Valentine’s Day is just an opportunity for Hallmark/florists/Godiva to bleed your bank account white. Well hi there bitter brain. You might have a point… But I maybe sorta kinda like milk chocolates I can’t digest and flowers that’ll whither soon?

2. Reunite! It’s only six hundred kilometres! It’s only six hundred dollars! Do it do it do it! Don’t be silly, self. You’ve been watching too many Julia Roberts movies. The Boy is coming just a few days later. Plus the 14th is a school night and you have an early class the next day. Stay put.

3. Get chip-faced on the couch with the girls! But what about the Boy?

4. Skype! I guess? But that’s what we always do. Chat while wearing a lurid pink sweater and eating dark chocolate fondu take-out? Try and watch a movie online, if the Internet allows such synchronicity?

I don’t know, blogosphere, what is one to do? Send me your tips!

Leave a comment