Hair-Raising Adventures: The Secret Shine Ingredient

6 Apr
Photo on 2013-04-06 at 8.34 PM #2

Cousin It and I now have something in common: LONG GLORIOUS LOCKS!

After a long hiatus, I am back in the blogosphere, with many posts to catch up on. In my time away (spent writing essays, working on a group project, and being sick for a week) I have learned a great many things. The most important of these has been what to do with my scraggly, messy hair. I saw a photo of the back of my head, and was aghast that what I thought was a glorious mane is actually a stringy rat’s nest. I can’t cut it all off. I am under a stern no-cut commandment from my grandmother (until the Big Chop into a pixie cut after I graduate), and besides, the salons in Montreal are so expensive–I don’t want to fork over $60 dollars just for a trim to get a few layers and remove split ends. I can do that during the summer in small-town Ontario, where the haircuts are cheap and the barbers plentiful.

So I set about trying to fix the hair I have, rather than removing the whole mess with scissors. I turned, naturally, to the internet, and was initially led astray into an awful experiment with egg. It ended with bits of scrambled egg covering my scalp, and a waxy coating on the rest of my hair. Gross, gross, gross. I then moved on to chemicals, purchasing TreSemme shampoo that promised to get rid of 80% of my split ends. 80%! What dark magic was in this crap? It worked pretty well, and the split ends did initially disappear, which leads me to believe that the shampoo is actually a bottle of thinned glue. What else could be keeping my ends together?

Chemical goodness is not the point of this post though. I have found my hair saviour: apple cider vinegar. Dilute it so that there is one part ACV to three parts water, and then pour it over your hair (DO NOT GET THIS CRAP IN YOUR EYES, OH THE AGONY) after you’ve washed it. Let it sit for a few minutes, and then rinse it all out well. Then turn the tap to the coldest water you’ve felt in your life and rinse your hair with that for a few seconds.

Photo on 2013-04-06 at 8.35 PM

Duck face selfie to illustrate the after-effects of an ACV rinse.

It’s so simple! It’s so cheap (a little over 2 dollars for a bottle of the vinegar)! It makes your hair look FABULOUS and shiny and healthy! Next in the realm of DIY Beauty, I will attempt to make a baking soda face scrub. That may or may not end well. At least it doesn’t contain egg.

Leave a comment