More Hair-Raising Adventures: Good Riddance, Frizz and Knots!

17 Apr
Photo on 2013-04-14 at 7.52 PM #2

Mirror-image label, ‘cos webcams are fun.

My hair/fashion/career idol.

In my ongoing quest to become super crunchy, in the hippie-granola sense, I have discovered something new from the pantry that I can slather over my hair: coconut oil! In the beauty blogosphere, this seems to be the no. 1 tip handed out for natural, crunchy haircare; I’m surprised it took me so long to stumble upon it.

My hair is lank, messy, and thin. On the same head, some parts are unexpectedly wavy and unmanageable, and I always regret going out for the day with my hair down because it becomes so full of knots that it’s impossible to comb through by the time I get back home. My hair is pretty straight, but it also manages to have some massive frizz issues. Now that I’ve made those knots into shiny disco balls of glamour , I’m looking for products that will keep my hair flowing freely down my back, rather than bunching itself around my neck in tangles.

To the left is the hair I’ve always wanted, on the head of fictional character Laura Holt, private investigator in the glorious 80s television series Remington Steele. It doesn’t seem too hard to achieve; there’s no intense 80s perm going on, and we totally have the same taste in hats. Would it kill my hair to look like that?

Photo on 2013-04-14 at 7.53 PM

Freshly applied.

Enter, coconut oil, into my life. There are four steps to this miracle:

1. rub oil between your hands to warm it up

2. apply to your entire head of hair and rub it into your scalp

3. braid your hair and pin it up for a couple hours

4. shampoo twice and rinse well, so you don’t end up greasy-looking

Not only did I end up smelling delicious, but my hair was incredibly soft and smooth after it dried. I’ve worn my hair down since then, and there was minimal knotting! Still knots, but not the kind I’m used to. I’m still not 80s gorgeous, but I am inching closer to taming my hair.

Close enough.

Close enough.

Leave a comment